Raphael photo
San Diego Symphony

Payare Leads Tchaikovsky

Sat, Feb 26, 2022 @ 8:00P

Sat, Feb 26, 2022 @ 8:00P

Civic Theatre
Masks are required for all guests regardless of vaccination status.
Proof of Vaccination Required
Tickets start at $28.50 (includes a $3.50 Facility Restoration Fee)
Run Time
Approximately 2 hours
Must be 5+ years to attend. All ages must have own ticket.
On Sale
Public on Sale begins Sun, Dec 5, 2021 @ 10:00A

Per the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) and the event organizer, guests who attend this event will be required to be fully vaccinated against COVID-19. Fully vaccinated is defined by the CDC as being at least 14 days after the receipt of the second dose of a two-dose vaccine (such as the currently available Pfizer-BioNtech and Moderna) or one dose of a single-dose vaccine (like Johnson & Johnson). 

The San Diego Symphony’s Jacobs Masterworks and Chamber Music series are intended for fully vaccinated audiences age 5 and older. We regret that at this time we are unable to welcome patrons under the age of 12 who are not fully vaccinated.

All guests are required to wear a mask while inside the theatre, regardless of vaccination status.

For your convenience, Lux Concierge is offering rapid testing onsite at Civic Theatre for $40 per test.  Testing is available 1 hour before the event. Please plan to arrive early to the venue to accommodate the testing.

Click here for details on acceptable proof of vaccination.

Rafael Payare, conductor
Pacho Flores, trumpet

Andrew NORMAN: Drip Blip Sparkle Spin Glint Glide Glow Float Flop Chop Pop Shatter Splash
NERUDA: Trumpet Concerto in E-flat Major
Paquito D'RIVERA: Concerto venezolano for Trumpet and Orchestra (U.S. Premiere; SDSO co-commission)
TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 4 in F minor

From the terror of its opening brass fanfare through to the wild delirium of its ending, Piotr Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony takes us on a journey of unstoppable drama, filled with aching melodies, thundering climaxes and the psychological torments of a hero struggling with implacable fate. Trumpeter Pacho Flores stars in the U.S. premiere of a new concerto by Paquito D'Rivera, a jazzy tribute to the Venezuelan people by the Cuban-born composer. And the concert opens with an enchanting orchestral firework by the young California-based composer Andrew Norman.