George Li photo
San Diego Symphony

Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody and Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique

Fri, Jan 28, 2022 @ 8:00P & Sat, Jan 29, 2022 @ 2:00P

Fri, Jan 28, 2022 @ 8:00P & Sat, Jan 29, 2022 @ 2:00P

Civic Theatre
Masks are required for all guests regardless of vaccination status.
Proof of Vaccination Required
Tickets start at $28.50 (includes a $3.50 Facility Restoration Fee)
Run Time
Approximately 2 hours
Must be 5+ years to attend. All ages must have own ticket.
On Sale
Public on Sale begins Sun, Dec 5, 2021 @ 10:00A

Per the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) and the event organizer, guests who attend this event will be required to be fully vaccinated against COVID-19. Fully vaccinated is defined by the CDC as being at least 14 days after the receipt of the second dose of a two-dose vaccine (such as the currently available Pfizer-BioNtech and Moderna) or one dose of a single-dose vaccine (like Johnson & Johnson). 

The San Diego Symphony’s Jacobs Masterworks and Chamber Music series are intended for fully vaccinated audiences age 5 and older. We regret that at this time we are unable to welcome patrons under the age of 12 who are not fully vaccinated.

All guests are required to wear a mask while inside the theatre, regardless of vaccination status.

Click here for details on acceptable proof of vaccination.

Rafael Payare, conductor
George Li, piano

STILL: Darker America
RACHMANINOFF: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
BERLIOZ: Symphonie fantastique

Music Director Rafael Payare and the Orchestra bring us two ever-green popular favorites: Hector Berlioz's astonishingly daring Symphonie fantastique, an early romantic epic of unrequited love and passion; and before it, the great Russian composer Sergei Rachmaninoff’s Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, in which they are joined by the American pianist George Li. The program opens with American music – William Grant Still's tone poem of sorrow, hope and prayer, intended, as the composer wrote, to be "representative of the American Negro and suggest the triumph of a people over their sorrows..."